UNION

M.1516-25 Motion to change the name of Hullfire TV to Torch TV

HUU notes:

- 1. Hullfire TV has been part of the Hullfire Media group since 2014 and works alongside The Hullfire and Hullfire Radio.
- 2. Recent focus groups and feedback indicate that students seem to think of Hullfire TV as a video format of the newspaper. This has a demoralising effect on TV members as their work is often overlooked and not recognised.
- 3. Numerous marketing material by HUU has misadvertised Hullfire TV.
- 4. Other student media groups around the country have different branding within their student media group, e.g. the University of Manchester Media Group that is made up of The Mancunion, Fuse TV and Fuse FM.
- 5. Hullfire TV members voted all in majority for the name change from 'Hullfire TV' to 'Torch TV' as well as receiving backing from Hullfire Radio, The Hullfire, RAG and the SEC committees.

HUU Believes:

- 1. In order to build on its success and continue to thrive, the TV station requires a rebranding. Creating its own separate identity will mean it is seen and judged on its own quality rather than it being seen as a video spinoff of the newspaper.
- 2. Torch was the original name of student media at the University of Hull and in the City of Culture year it would be a great nod to the culture of student media and retains elements of Hullfire within the name.

HUU Resolves:

- 1. To change the name of Hullfire TV to Torch TV and amend SO 2009 accordingly.
- 2. Torch TV will still act as part of the student media group but be branded separately.

Proposer: Josh Baker (Hullfire TV, Station Manager)

Seconder: Amy Jackson (Chair SEC), Tom Lyons (Head of Ents, Hullfire TV), Connah Thompson (incoming Deputy TV Station Manager), Matt Bramall (Head of Sport, Hullfire TV & Radio), Katie Middlehurst, (Head of Post-Production, Hullfire TV), Nathan Thompson (Head of Factual, Hullfire TV), Megan O'Keeffe (Head of Marketing, Hullfire TV), Piotrek

Kossakowski (incoming Head of Factual for TV), Laurence Cresswell (Editor of The Hullfire/Station Manager, Hullfire Radio), Jack Forrester (Station Manager, Hullfire Radio), Chris Knott (Finance Officer, SEC), Gabby Calvery (Secretary SEC), Stuart Negus (Academic Societies Rep, SEC), Josie Findley (Recreational Societies Rep, SEC), Celine Henry (Faith and Cultural Societies Rep, SEC), Hester Gebbels, Megan Hammell, Callum Greenwell, Barnaby Falck, Michael Borrego, Hannah Brander, Mihaela Nutulescu, Robert Chisolm, Robert Garner, Amy Winbolt, Thomas Moore, Adan Osborne, Holly Akam, Charlotte Pettitt, Jack Holdsworth, Josh Newell, Katie Stones, Harley Simpson, Edward Parkinson, Sam Collins, Johnny Moorhead (Head of Events, Hullfire Media), Josh McMullan (Chair RAG), Ellam Fox (Treasurer RAG), Jennie Watts (Events Co-ordinator RAG), Sophia Phelps (Challenges RAG), Laura Sage (Secretary RAG), Rosie Whitlegg (Events Co-ordinator RAG), Jessica Ginnelly (Publicity Officer RAG)